2Likes
  • x 1 Post By rockfer
  • x 1 Post By m24p

Thread: How many Reaper users moved from Pro Tools?

Silver-Plated Member
    Liked
    15 times

Default How many Reaper users moved from Pro Tools?

Just curious how many Reaper users moved from Pro Tools, and now use Reaper as their main DAW? What drew you to Reaper, and why do you like it better than Pro Tools?

Silver-Plated Member
    Liked
    15 times

Default Re: How many Reaper users moved from Pro Tools?

Any......?

Liked
    6 times

I am no expert but I started learning recording in pro tools. Ive also played with Logic, cubase, propellerhead Record and several other DAWs. I had the Mpowered version of pro tools. I hate that it restricts the number of tracks you can use in a project, hate that it does not have delay compensation and that versions previous to v. 9 were tied to a specific sound card. I do however love the workflow in pro tools and I am used to the shortcuts of it. I am of the opinion that all DAWs have the same basic capabilities and that it is just a matter a preference.

This is where Reaper comes in, I currently have version 4 of reaper and it is absooutely perfect for my needs. Reaper lets you customize your screen sets, shortcuts, and lots of other things. So basically you can tailor it to your hearts content.

I have it set up so that all the shorcuts are the same or almost the same as pro tools. And I havent really missed anything about pro tools. Plugins in reaper are very good. It is light and the development and customer service is supervb.

Only drawback is that it is time consuming to get it exactly how you want it configured but once you are done and realize it fits exactly with your needs you wont regret the time spent. A lot of stuckup pro tools users would tell you there is no comparison. I say that Reaper has a competitive edge because it gives you the freedom to do what ever.