Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Brand New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    Hey all! Just bought my Scarlett 2i2 today and ofcourse I ran into some problems right away.

    The thing is, I want to be able to record my electric guitar with this new amplifier I got for Christmas called "Peavey Venom 100" or something like that. How do I plug in my electric guitar along with the amplifier into the Scarlett 2i2? My headphone input is 3.5mm so..

    Any suggestions?

    Regards Linus

  2. #2
    brandondrury's Avatar
    Supreme Overlord Commander
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Scott City, Missouri
    Posts
    34,072
    Pissed Off At High End Gear
    Blog Entries
    33
    Liked
    4682 times

    Default Re: Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    How do you intend to record the guitar amp? Mic / Direct out via 1/4 or XLR?

    I did a search on Google for "Peavey Venom" and all I got was this thread. I think you may have the name goofed up....which is something I normally have a monopoly on around here. I'm not sure if has a DI or what. (A lot of modern amps have USB out and all kinds of "cutting edge" features that make troubleshooting difficult without knowing more about the amp.)

    My headphone input is 3.5mm so..
    On the Scarlett 2i2?

    Brandon

  3. #3
    Brand New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    Speccs on Viper 100:
    Peavey :: VypyrŽ 100

    Aux input
    Usb record out
    Headphones (3.5mm width)


    Speccs on Scarlett 2i2:
    Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

    Headphones (guitar-cable width, normal one)



    Basically I want to be able to record my acustic and electric guitar with the effects of the Viper 100 through the Sacrlett intro my computer. I want to be able to setup my recording studio so that I can benifit from the amplifier.

    Right now everything is unsynced when I record and my setup is:

    Computer --> Sacrlett --> Peavey headphone input (3,5mm) from the instrumental input (second hole)
    From amplifier input to guitar is the last step.


    QUESTION:

    What is the real way to connect them so that I can record synced and not unsynced??

    Regards.

  4. #4
    Rockerdude's Avatar
    Certified Badass Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,551
    Blog Entries
    1
    Liked
    292 times

    Default Re: Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    It looks like you can go right out of the amp via USB into your computer and it will recognize the amp as an audio device. So I think you can bypass the scarlet and just go from the amp/usb into the computer. You might get a better sound going this way than out of a headphone out on the amp into the interface.

    If you're talking about synced are you talking about latency or delay in the signal?

  5. #5
    Brand New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    I bought the Sacrlett yesterday for over 200$ and I did it because it gives better quality and it was supposed to not give me delay :P I know my setup is wrong.

  6. #6
    Rockerdude's Avatar
    Certified Badass Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,551
    Blog Entries
    1
    Liked
    292 times

    Default Re: Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    Sounds like a latency issue . What DAW are you using? Hardware buffer settings/samples should be set at the lowest values for tracking, this will reduce the latency.
    Last edited by Rockerdude; 01-06-2012 at 05:17 PM.

  7. #7
    Brand New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    I have no idea what you just said.. sorry!

    Im a beginner with this and Im not sure what Im supposed to do to change the latency!
    Should I setup my equipment different?

  8. #8
    Brand New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    Oh! My recording program is called Audacity 1.3 BETA
    Ill switch if thats whats needed!

  9. #9
    brandondrury's Avatar
    Supreme Overlord Commander
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Scott City, Missouri
    Posts
    34,072
    Pissed Off At High End Gear
    Blog Entries
    33
    Liked
    4682 times

    Default Re: Problem with Scarlett 2i2

    Fire up the PDF that came with the Scarlett and start searching for the terms we've mentioned. This gig is a CONSTANT lesson. You are ALWAYS learning. If you don't befriend your manuals, you'll get eaten alive by this stuff.

Similar Threads

  1. Getting a Scarlett 2i2 soon, recording Guitar Rig 5?
    By BlaqBetteh in forum Recording Toys And Tactics
    Replies: 2
    Latest Jive: 01-03-2012, 07:34 PM
  2. Focusrite Scarlett Bundle
    By String7th in forum Recording Toys And Tactics
    Replies: 4
    Latest Jive: 12-21-2010, 10:13 AM
  3. Please help my SX/PC problem
    By stripeymoon in forum Cubase
    Replies: 8
    Latest Jive: 06-17-2010, 10:01 AM
  4. Hiss Problem and monitoring problem
    By The Acumen in forum Recording Toys And Tactics
    Replies: 5
    Latest Jive: 01-20-2010, 11:08 PM
  5. input problem/ Midi problem
    By Melle in forum Fixing Gear
    Replies: 1
    Latest Jive: 07-19-2009, 03:49 AM

Thread Info

Recording Toys And Tactics Thread, Problem with Scarlett 2i2 in Recording Engineers / Producers; Hey all! Just bought my Scarlett 2i2 today and ofcourse I ran into some problems right away. The thing is, ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •