Brand New Member
    Liked
    0 times

Default How and when should I use 44.1 kHz and 48 kHz?

Hi everybody!

My name's Jordan and while I'm primarily a videographer, I've been learning more about audio and how important it is for video at school lately (I'm currently studying TV broadcast). I play guitar, keyboards, and a little ukulele, bass, and harmonica. I play guitar and bass and sing in my band and dabble in a little solo recording at home just for fun. In addition to being a full time student, I freelance as an editor (which includes doing voiceover work in some cases). Also, I must say I've really enjoyed browsing this forum and have learned a lot.

I do have some questions though; if some of you guys could help me out it'd be much appreciated . I just bought a AT2020 mic and an Inspire 1394 audio interface with which record instruments and voiceover and am really excited with the possibilities, but I'm still pretty new and inexperienced with audio in general

In school, I learned a bit about sample rates - such as how 44.1 kHz is what CDs and such use and how most editing programs are set for 48 kHz. Now correct me if I'm wrong, but you shouldn't ever mix sample rates in a video, right? (i.e. having a 48 kHz voiceover with a 44.1 kHz music track)...doing that can result with the sound getting out of sync, right?

By default, my Final Cut Pro editing program is set to 48 kHz; does that mean that any audio I bring into the program should also be 48 kHz or converted in 48 kHz? I just checked a project I'd been working on and it looks like most of the audio is 44.1 kHz, and it all works and syncs with no problem.

I've got a lot of questions, I know (and a lot more coming, I'm sure), but I'd really appreciate any advice! Thanks!

Titanium-Plated Member
    Liked
    140 times

Default Re: How and when should I use 44.1 kHz and 48 kHz?

With my software a project has to be running at one sample rate.