Brand New Member
    Liked
    0 times

Default Getting that 80s Rock Drum Sound!!

Hey there all, i'm a newbie here!!

Im currently researching into recording an 80's rock sounding track for a guitar rhythm action game (like guitar hero) for a university project. Im finding it difficult to get some advice on getting that phat Bon Jovi, Def Leppard Sound. Think of the intro to 'Lay your Hands On Me' by Bon Jovi.

I understand using gated reverbs and some nice valve mic's and pre's. But what kind of drum's?? what snare sound?? type? Skins?. I understand the processing part of it but its just getting the sound in the first place. A lot of it was MIDI triggers and sequences but im trying to get it from acoustic drums in the first place.

Im also trying to get a nice kick sound. Its still very resonant and clicky. I've tried adding coats, duvets etc, into the sound hole and tried various mic placements. Is it best to take the front off and go from there??

So many questions but I hope I can get some help!!

Cheers!!!

Danny

Supreme Overlord Commander
    Pissed Off At High End Gear
    Blog Entries
    Liked
    5156 times

Default Re: Getting that 80s Rock Drum Sound!!

Interesting thread. I must admit that I don't know much about the drum stuff like shell type, heads, etc.

Also, the sound of Def Leopard drums sounds quite a bit different from album to album.

However, the sound of these huge drum sounds is almost entirely in the processing. The intro to lay your hands on me has a WILD amount of reverb on it. I could be wrong, but the way I see it, the wetter the drum sound, the less significant the tone of the drums (within reason).

I've not read much on Bon Jovi 80s production, but I have with Def Leopard. The short answer is "anything goes". Midi triggers, layering samples, entirely using electronic drums, doubling drums, etc are all options. No rules. Any means justify the end with this sound.