need advice - how to get good bass tone

need advice - how to get good bass tone

helo.... I'm new in recording and dont really a bass player. And needs some help to improve my BASS tone/sound in my recording.

OK, for example, I would like to get a BASS sound something like U2 'with or without you'.... what should I do? COMPRESS it? REverb it? Put some gain?

For information. I just using a cheap Squier Bass thru Toneport UX1 to record my BASS.

2. join Win $100 In Mic Cables! Join Today! Join! It's free!
  3. Re: need advice - how to get good bass tone

I always use a little gain/distortion on my bass tone and then compress it. In reality just mess with the EQ on the Toneport or in the audio program you are using to tweak things a bit.

4. Re: need advice - how to get good bass tone

Originally Posted by YAZAM68
    helo.... I'm new in recording and dont really a bass player. And needs some help to improve my BASS tone/sound in my recording.

OK, for example, I would like to get a BASS sound something like U2 'with or without you'.... what should I do? COMPRESS it? REverb it? Put some gain?

For information. I just using a cheap Squier Bass thru Toneport UX1 to record my BASS.
    It is going to be tough if you are not a bass player because about 90% of the tone is in your hands, how you attack the notes, when you release them, where your right hand fingers are on the strings (over the end of the neck, over the pickups or closer to the bridge.)

It is not helping any that you have a Squier bass. The stock pickups in my 1988 Pbass were pretty lame, so I can't imagine that your stock Squier pickups are going to sound great.

Here is an interview with Adam Clayton:

Adam Clayton Bass Player Interview