Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Hi, Im using Cubase 5 with a edirol FA-66 soundcard which my Rode NTA-1 mic is connected too through XLR, Also I have a akai mpk 25 and a umx 61 MIDI keyboards routed through the same soundcard, now my keyboards work fine, but i cant get the mic to work, it's set up correctly, and the vst connections are set up correctly,
    but there's no sound being picked up , but cubase picks up midi signal from the keyboards

    please help

  2. #2
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    If your routing is correct, then check the basics.
    Is phantom power switched on in the Edirol ?
    Do you have the monitor/record enable selected on the track in Cubase ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,465
    Junk Gear Lover
    Blog Entries
    2
    Liked
    840 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Sounds like the phantom power is not turned on for the mic channel you are using. I often forget to switch in on since before I switched to an audio interface I used a powered mixer (i.e. phantom power was always on).

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Hi guys, yep phantom power is on, in my vst connections the input is 1 mono and the stereo tab is "1 stereo"

    then i add a audio track "mono" and in the inspector, i select input - mono in and output "stereo out"

    i basically get signal and sound from my midi keyboards but no signal or sound from my microphone, even with moniter on

  5. #5
    brandondrury's Avatar
    Supreme Overlord Commander
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Scott City, Missouri
    Posts
    34,649
    Pissed Off At High End Gear
    Blog Entries
    33
    Liked
    5032 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Did you select your audio interfaces driver in Cubase?

    When you crank up the preamp on your interface do you get some kind of signal confirmation (LED lighting up). Sometimes you have to push them into clipping to get the overload light to come on to be sure it's getting signal.

    but cubase picks up midi signal from the keyboards
    The MIDI end is ultimately separate within Cubase. This tells us that the connection from the interface to the computer is working, but not much else in regard to audio.

    What happens when you import an wav or mp3 file into Cubase and hit play?

    This could be an issue with the monitor button. You haven't mentioned that yet. After you have all your routing correct, try pushing the monitor button. It's a little bitty guy beside the red button for arming the track. See if you get any signal then. Of course, try just hitting record and see if you get anywhere.

    The mic could be dead. If you have another source (guitar, bass, synth, etc) plug it into the interface and see if it works.

    I'm just rambling here. I have a comprehensive "to do" list for audio interface troubleshooting in
    Killer Home Recording: Setting Up

    Brandon

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    yeah i selected the right driver,

    ok basically, i opened cubase, added audio track etc, i turned the preamp sens to full way and i started getting signal, i then turned the monitor on whilst the preamp was full way and i got feedback so i assume the mic is working fine, just the same problem, i only get signal when the preamp is full whack, but i get feedback, but if its not on full whack then i get no signal, also i tried recording with the preamp on full and my microphone actually recorded the feedback, but that's it, when i put the preamp back to a standard level, i get no signal or sound

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    i also tried recording vocals when the preamp was full whack, but it just recorded the feedback i get :S

  8. #8
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Do you get feedback when using headphones while recording ?
    If so, you might have a routing problem in your vst connections in Cubase.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    yep, when i turn my speakers off, and record with headphones on, the mic still records that feedback, even though the feedback is in my headphones and not coming out the speakers

  10. #10
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    It sounds like you have some vst routing issues that are feeding a output back into an input causing digital feedback.
    Double check your vst routing connections, and verify that there is no circular feedback happening in some channel, or insert connection.
    Disable or remove any plugins (if you are using any) to help eliminate potential feedback points.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Ok basically, i put the preamp full whack, and the feedback came, i then checked the mixer and noticed that the signal was coming from the mono in channel on the left and not the "audio 01" channel, there werent no insert enabled or anything either, do you reckon you have any step by step guide on what to do, that you reckon would help
    i googled "cubase 5 vst routing problems" and "cubase 5 digital feedback" but they were all to do with MIDI

  12. #12
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Sorry. I don't have a step by step guide. I have accidentally done this myself in the past, but do not recall what I did to cause the feedback.
    Another thing to check is make sure the direct monitoring mixer software that came with the Edirol (most interfaces do come with some routing software provided by the company)
    is not the cause of the problem. ie - check the routing connections in the Edirol software mixer control.

    Edit - Check page 34 of your Edirol FA-66 user guide. It has a mention of getting feedback if both the software, and hardware direct monitoring
    are active at the same time.
    Last edited by JayGee; 01-27-2012 at 02:48 PM.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    unfortunately, my soundcard has no software mixer control , i've tried showing you printscreen shots of the set up in cubase but the files are too large to upload,
    what exactly is digital feedback/vst routing, I mean Im not a noob with cubase, it's just this problem got me baffled!, but i honestly dont know what digital feedback/vst routing really is

  14. #14
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Read about "direct monitoring" in your Edirol manual. Pages 12, and 34 are relevant
    Search for "direct monitoring" in the manual.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    itee man i will, thanks for the support too, i really appreciate it!

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    i read the manual and nothing worked , i give up lol

  17. #17
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Try this if haven't.
    1. Push in the "Soft Ctrl" button on the front of the Edirol.
    2. Rotate the "Mix Direct Monitor" knob fully counter clockwise.

    I'm hoping this will eliminate the feedback you are getting.

    Hang in there. I'm sure this can be solved.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    alright then, I'ma try that 1st thing in the morning and get back to you
    But if it does eliminate the feedback, how will that fix the problem
    Of cubase not picking up signal when the preamp isn't on full?

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    With the preamp full whack and soft ctrl on, I turned the direct monitoring mix fully to the left and got feedback, then i turned the mix fully right, and got no feedback
    but the signal was still picking up, then i tried it turning the mix fully left and right with soft ctrl off this time, and i got feedback both ways

  20. #20
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    So it works correctly with the soft ctrl on and the mix knob fully to the right ?
    No feedback, and you were able to record a signal.

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    yeahh it works like that, the feedback went, but the feedback signal was still being picked up and then i hit record, and even tho i couldnt hear the feedback
    the feedback got recorded,

  22. #22
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    It would be nice if you could take a few snapshots of the Cubase vst routing windows, and post them for examination.
    I use MWSnap (freeware) get take screen snapshots. It allows you to save the snaps off as compressed jpeg images,
    and that may alleviate the file upload problems you are having.

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    i downloaded that mwsnap, but it still wont let me upload

    do you have any snapshots of what the vst routing is suppose to look likee ?

  24. #24
    Powerhouse Mega Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Central, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Liked
    97 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Sorry. I don't.

    Maybe the Steinberg site has instructions, or images of vst routing.

  25. #25
    brandondrury's Avatar
    Supreme Overlord Commander
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Scott City, Missouri
    Posts
    34,649
    Pissed Off At High End Gear
    Blog Entries
    33
    Liked
    5032 times

    Default Re: Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone

    Name:  screen.jpg
Views: 492
Size:  78.9 KB

    This is to test if uploads work. I just took a screenshot as an example.

    Brandon

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Cubase not getting audio signal
    By dkhbrit in forum Cubase
    Replies: 6
    Latest Jive: 03-02-2011, 10:41 PM
  2. Audio signal not picked up!! Cubase 5
    By jimbobmcguinness in forum Cubase
    Replies: 3
    Latest Jive: 01-30-2011, 09:09 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Latest Jive: 06-02-2009, 01:21 AM
  4. Replies: 11
    Latest Jive: 05-12-2009, 07:16 AM
  5. Cubase not registering microphone signal
    By NetherFlame in forum Cubase
    Replies: 9
    Latest Jive: 02-14-2009, 10:18 AM

Thread Info

Cubase Thread, Cubase wont pick any audio signal from my microphone in Recording Software; Hi, Im using Cubase 5 with a edirol FA-66 soundcard which my Rode NTA-1 mic is connected too through XLR, ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •